In The Name Of Love

It’s Pride … week? I didn’t know it was a week until I looked it up.

It’s two years since I voted for equality for my gay citizens.

It’s 34 years since Ireland voted to make me equal to a zygote.

We have a gay Taoiseach.

He doesn’t seem to think abortion is a class issue when the truth is rich women like me who can travel have better access to it than others.

I don’t want to detract from the progress we’ve made since I was a child.

But, sometimes it’s hard to feel proud of Ireland, or loved by it.

 

In The Name Of Love

Leave a Reply

