A Good Friday

The slightly odd workplace traditions prevalent in Ireland meant both of us were off work today. I made it back to the gym for the first time in over two weeks – a bad back kept me away and it was tough to get back into the swing of kettlebells but worth it for the endorphins.

I’d also planned on using the bonus of an extra day with the two of us here to do some more decluttering and reorganising. There’s always clutter, be it the three jars of eye cream you packed, moved, unpacked and reorganised but never actually used, or the old scarf that might be useful someday even though you use the new one all the time, or the odds and ends that turn up and don’t have a permanent home.

Today was a good Friday. We got rid of more stuff, we rearranged things a little better and we have the knowledge that the rest of the weekend is still free for us to enjoy. Life is easier with less, I just need to keep reminding myself of this. It helped that during the latest attic declutter I came across some old summer tops that are perfect for the gym until I feel I’ve earned a nice new set of gym clothes once I reach my goals.

A Good Friday

Leave a Reply

