Stranger Things

Like many others, I have really enjoyed Stranger Things. I was a big X-Files fan during the early seasons and although Stranger Things is set about a decade earlier than the first X-Files episode, it has the same feel about it, a kind of it-might-be-possible-slash-giant-government-conspiracy-trust-no-one experience.

I am a child of the 1980s, but whereas in other countries kids spent the decade enjoying choppers and Dungeons and Dragons, round our way it was a decade with many, many Stranger Things going on. A lot of this was the last gasp of a church that was dying, although we didn’t know it at the time, and it deal a final blow in the form of one of the worst things people ever voted for. I’m so angry about this I’ll probably explode, but that’s of no use and I’ll focus on ways to get this out of our constitution.

One of the good Stranger Things that my country could do would be to treat women equally. Maybe protect the rights of women during pregnancy and allow us the dignity of making our own choices about what’s right for us. Another of the Stranger Things I’d like to see would be a change our education system so its based on the rights of children rather than the rights of adults to indoctrinate their children via the state funded school system.

Ireland was a strange, strange place back in the 1980s. Almost as strange as what happened during this great TV show. I hope before season 2 rolls around we’ll have managed to reverse some of the Stranger Things that happened during a decade I don’t think I’ll ever figure out.

Stranger Things

Leave a Reply

