Much Ado About Muffins

I moved house with a large jar full of dried fruit that’s been soaked in rum. It was left over from my Christmas baking and as the alcohol preserves and keeps the fruit nice and moist I haven’t been in a rush to use it. I suddenly decided to make muffins this week and came up with a recipe which was inspired by Nigella’s Christmas morning muffins. Side note, I have and adore her Christmas cookbook. I use many of the recipes year-round.

The kitchen smelled deliciously Christmassy when the muffins were baking and considering they were sugar free they turned out very nicely sweet. My current oven sparks zero joy for me. I had planned on getting my kitchen cabinets painted but instead I’m planning on shopping for a new double oven and getting rid of my completely unreliable single-oven-with-a-gross-integrated-microwave-we-never-use combo.

Here’s my not at all accurate recipe should anyone care to try a little taste of Christmas in June.

200 g plain flour

50 g ground almonds

50 g ground coconut

1 tsp baking powder

0.5 tsp bicarb

1 tsp grated nutmeg

Two mandarin oranges

Approx 180 mls milk

Approx 75 mls oil (I used sunflower)

One egg

Three heaped tbsp dried fruit soaked in alcohol

 

Set an oven that’s anyway reliable to about 170 C and fill a 12 piece muffin tin with paper cases.

Put all dry ingredients into a large mixing bowl. Stir to combine.

Grate the oranges over the dry mixture.

Cut oranges and squeeze juice into a measuring jug.

Pour milk until the 200 ml mark is reached, then oil until about 275 mls.

Crack the egg into the milk mixture and beat a little with a fork.

Pour the liquid into the dry ingredients and mix well-I found a fork did the best job.

Stir the fruit through the mixture until everything is combined evenly.

Fill the cases and place tin in oven. Cook for about 15 mins and if your oven is like mine make sure they don’t burn.

Cool and enjoy.

Much Ado About Muffins

Leave a Reply

