YOU’D BETTER SKIP THIS ONE…

… is Marjorie’s chapter on budgeting. She outlines a variety of her ‘cases’, some of whom fritter their money away, others of whom have various ways of making sure their money works for them. While I don’t have a budget for ice compared to the single ladies enjoying life in the 1930s, her stern approach rings true today. If you don’t know where you stand, life can be very difficult indeed.

I will freely admit I was better at handling my money when I had less of it to handle. When I was 15 I got regular babysitting jobs and when I turned 16 I got a proper part-time job and ever since then I’ve been in the working world. A little overspending caused me a lot of anxiety and I made a resolution to try much harder to acknowledge where my money was going.

I’m in the very fortunate position of not having to worry too much about how all the bills will be covered, but I sometimes wonder where my budgeting skills from leaner days have gone. One of my orchids is to make more of an effort to ensure that I stay on top on my money and, to paraphrase Marjorie, it’s less painful to know where you stand.

YOU’D BETTER SKIP THIS ONE…

One thought on “YOU’D BETTER SKIP THIS ONE…

Leave a Reply

