Emily Fox-Seton, Marchioness and All Around Interesting Character

I rarely have an evening where I have our television to myself, and last night was one such occasion. I stumbled upon a repeat of a (not that great to be honest, given that it strayed so far from the original material) television version of The Making of a Marchioness, a novel by Frances Hodgson Burnett that I first read some years ago. A Little Princess is one of my favourite books still, and the horror of what might have been in that story probably resonates even more with me as an adult than it did as a child. The Secret Garden is another classic.

Emily is the heroine of the book and quite the heroine she is too. Having been proposed to at the most opportune of times and moving very much up in the world, she then has to deal with a series of unfortunate events. I wouldn’t call it a love story as much as a story about Getting On In The World and Having Some Gumption, both things Marjorie would highly recommend. I dug out my copy of this book today and it reads as well now as it did when I first enjoyed it. Finding more hidden gems like this one is an orchid I will be building into my budget.

Emily Fox-Seton, Marchioness and All Around Interesting Character

Leave a Reply

