Pancake Tuesday and Realising You Are Missing An Orchid, And A Completely Unrelated Book Recommendation

Pancake Tuesday rolled around and as per tradition I chucked some flour, an egg and milk into a mixing bowl in unknown quantities, whisked like mad and left to sit while we ate dinner. I have a pan I love from Ikea and it has done a fair job of pancake cooking thus far but today it didn’t do an awesome job. So I have decided I am in need of a crepe pan. Yes, we use the terms “pancake” and “crepe” interchangeably in our house. I very occasionally make thicker style American pancakes, but we have decided the crepe style is what we prefer. We also realised maple syrup does not keep that long once you open the bottle (lovely new microsystem alerted us to this slightly gross fact) so enjoy your syrup in a timely manner. I see Ikea does do a crepe pan but I am going to do a bit of homework because I have learned over the years that sometimes it is more of a bargain to spend money on the more expensive item that doesn’t need to be replaced every so often than to buy something cheap in a hurry.

Not related at all to this post is the fact that I finally got around to reading Fatherland by Robert Harris. It is an utterly ridiculous, but compelling and readable, page turner that I finished quickly during my commute in the mornings and evenings. My reading time is a significant orchid and I plan on making more use of it in the months to come.

Pancake Tuesday and Realising You Are Missing An Orchid, And A Completely Unrelated Book Recommendation

Leave a Reply

