Saucey

I had a friend call over for lunch today and for pudding I had planned to make … a pudding. Nigella’s chocolate pudding from her Christmas recipe book, to be exact. It is a tried and true recipe for me and never fails to impress. It also has the major advantage of being easy as pie to make. I completely forgot about the sauce though, and left it too late to run out and buy the dark and milk chocolate. So I looked at what I had, and compounded an improvised caramel sauce. It was, if I may blow my own trumpet, delicious. In fact, it was so delicious I won’t make it too often because if I do I’ll eat too much of it and, as a consequence, get heartily sick of it and never make it again. So in the interest of self-interest this will be an occasional treat. A good lot of caster sugar, a few tablespoons of water, bring to a boil, throw in some butter and cream, remove from heat and whisk like billy-o. I followed this recipe very loosely but my quantities were wildly different. I think the more cream the better. And unsalted butter is what I always have to hand so that’s what I used.

Saucey

Leave a Reply

