Things I Learned In January

I decided to stay on the dry in January. I am most definitely not giving up alcohol altogether but I had noticed that our weekend bottle of wine habit was spreading to Fridays and Sundays and this made me a little uncomfortable. So I took an all or nothing approach and stayed away from all alcohol for the entire month. It was easier than I thought and there were only a handful of times when I really felt a glass or wine or a gin and tonic would have really hit the spot. Lesson learned: if I want to, I can give up alcohol and I can enjoy nights out without drinking. It was actually rather nice to be able to get into the car and drive home in comfort after a night out.

One resolution for this year was to start this blog. I’m pretty happy with my posting schedule, that is, no schedule at all, but I have learned that I need to make time for posting. And that I need to jazz this blog up a bit with some pictures or something. Lesson learned: even my fantastic writing and witty commentary needs something visual to help things along.

As I’ve mentioned before, I am a fan of the Marie Kondo approach to tidying and decluttering. This is an ongoing process for me, but following her plan has completely changed how I shop and why I shop. I would probably hoard a lot more if I allowed myself to and this wouldn’t be good for me. I really felt the benefit of the Konmari philosophy when browsing in shops during the Christmas sales. After a few hours of looking at not-quite-right clothes that sparked no joy, I took myself off to a hairdressers and instead had a divine blowdry that sparked large amounts of joy and put me in a great mood. Lesson learned: thinking more carefully about my consumption and shopping habits is time well spent.

I still mourn the loss of my favourite restaurant. I can’t help it, I really miss this place. Lesson learned: you don’t know what you’ve got till it’s gone. So enjoy it while you can.

Things I Learned In January

Leave a Reply

